Events Calendar

Penland Events 2017

Community Open House
Saturday, March 4, 2017
Each year, a week before spring classes begin, the Penland studios open to the public for an afternoon of hands-on workshops and demonstrations. The Penland open house is about experimentation, creativity, and fun. No admission charged; all ages welcome. 1:00 – 5:00 pm.
View details here.


Annual Benefit Auction

The 2017 Annual Benefit Auction will take place Friday, August 11 and Saturday, August 12 on the Penland campus. This gala weekend is a celebration of creativity and community made possible by the many artists, volunteers, and friends who support Penland. Tickets are required for the event and will go on sale in the spring.
Read more about the auction here.


Scholarship Auctions
Penland sessions end with an auction of work donated by students, instructors, and friends. These auctions are celebrations of the work done in the classes and an opportunity for neighbors, travelers, and craft lovers to enjoy the energy of a Penland session. The proceeds from these auctions support scholarship programs. No admission charged.

 Auctions take place at 8:00 PM in the Flex building at Penland.
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Thursday, June 8, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017
Thursday, July 6, 2017
Thursday, July 20, 2017
Monday, August 7, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017

 

 

JOHN & ROBYN HORN GALLERY

 Inspired | Work by 32 Artists from Penland’s
Resident Artist and Core Fellowship Programs

March 28 – May 14
Reception: Saturday, April 1, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 Within the Margins | Contemporary Ceramics
Curated by Steven Young Lee

May 30 – July 16
Reception: Saturday, June 3, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 Parched | Inverted Landscapes
Susan Goethel Campbell

August 1 – September 17
Reception: Saturday, August 5, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 Conversation: What Remains
Rachel Meginnes

October 3 – November 19
Reception: Saturday, October 7, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 

FOCUS GALLERY

 Well-Designed Objects
March 31 – May 7
Reception: Saturday, April 1, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 Abecedarium | Envisioned
Holly Walker

June 2 – July 9
Reception: Saturday, June 3, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 WEAR | Contemporary Jewelry
August 4 – September 10
Reception: Saturday, August 5, 4:30 – 6:30 PM

 Iron Design | Marc Maiorana
October 6 – November 12
Reception: Saturday, October 7, 4:30 – 6:30 PM